New Music

I’m a stickler for new music.

There has been plenty of times that I sit at night in my bouts of insomnia, and I scour the internet for “new” music. It’s an addiction that I have…but for some reason, I am never happy with my current collection of music. The other problem that I find, is that I’ll get stuck on a certain CD and am not able to peel myself away from said CD. It seems to happen far more often than it should.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my collection of music that has taken me years to acquire…but I constantly need MORE! I love any type of music really. As long as there’s something about it that just grabs my ear. So, it makes it rather difficult to really dig in deep when I’m running around through the chaotic world of Myspace. Sometimes, I have the naive belief that if I check out a band that I’m really into, that maybe….just maybe…their top friends are going to pose of interest and I’m going to be able to stumble upon a band that I haven’t heard before. I mean, if they’re on this band that I’m completely stupid for’s top friends list…there MUST be something about them that’s amazing. 9 times out of 10, they’re not…and I’m left disappointed.

I’ve found a CD though that I’ve been stuck on for the past few weeks. They have a new release coming out on May 5th that I can’t seem to keep my anxious little self from drooling over. I’m excited…yet somewhat nervous. The EP that they released was soooo good, that it just might come back to bite me in the tail. Here are a few suggestions that I suggest checking out though:

Closure in Moscow (Equal Vision Records): This band has kept me singing loudly in my car for the past 3 weeks now. I’m a big fan of Equal Vision Records. I always find myself suckered in by that high pitched male voice that I can never seem to acquire unless I’m busting out a quiet under the breath falsetto. I love them. Their new release is coming out the 5th of May. If it’s anything like their EP they released while still living in Australia, I’m going to be thrilled!

Eye Alaska (Fearless Records): These cats released a rather amazing EP as well. It was quite a nice change from all of the rest of the music that I had been listening to at the time. Nice catchy hooks, and a smooth, almost R&B-esque feel to the melodies. They definitely did things right. With the younger brother of Dustin Kensrue (lead singer of Thrice) in the band, you know they were bound to do something great. I am however a littler nervous for their new LP to be released this summer. After previewing the first track released from the recording…I can’t say I’m really sold yet. time will only tell.

Zachary Lucky (unsigned): While working at Copycats, I have the distinct luxury of working with a lot of amazing bands. This particular artist really stood out to me. I’m a big fan of folk and acoustic music. After popping this Canadian based songwriter into my CD player, I was pleasantly surprised to hear the relaxing tunes that were coming out of my speakers. His new EP that he just released is a great buy. http://www.myspace.com/zacharylucky

Damietta (unsigned): This is a Minneapolis, MN based hardcore project. Although I love hardcore/metal music, it’s really hard to find something that breaks out of the mold. Even if it’s in the mold, it is sometimes difficult to find a band that grabs you and makes you want to keep listening. I worked these fine young lads on their current EP release “Awakening” and found out how truly awesome of dudes these guys were. They have a nice zeal for the music they play and are genuine with their attitudes. I took the time to listen to their EP and wasn’t disappointed after I did. I can only assume that Damietta will soon be on a label showing the world what sort of force they can be. At their age, it’s only a matter of time!

Other than that, it’s the same old same old when it comes to my music collection. I will keep you up to date on all of the great music that I happen to stumble upon…and gloat about all of the other bands that we all listen to, but for one reason or another, don’t praise nearly as much as we should!!

Word!

-Z

~ by copyzac on April 23, 2009.

One Response to “New Music”

  1. Hey Bro! I totally agree. Great album!
    -Ryan / TTF

Leave a comment